Setting Goals…

dv560047   I will admit to having a hard time thinking about what to write today. Sometimes the topic comes right to me or I have it on my radar for a while – other times it can take a while. As I do often though, thinking about it on the treadmill during a workout can bring clarity. Interestingly though, it was not until about halfway through my run that it came to me – right as I was thinking I needed to step up my pace and perhaps go even further than my typical 2 1/2 miles. The goal I set was to complete a full 5K – or 3.1 miles – and then to try to top my last official time.

So there it was… the concept of setting goalsstriving for more than what we had done in the past.

This is actually a pretty good time to be thinking about this, as we draw near to the end of the year. Now that we see where we are finishing and what we will  have achieved, we can also start the planning process for what we can realistically do in the coming year. Of course it is important to push yourself a little bit too. If we get too comfortable with the status quo, then over time we find ourselves actually falling behind!

In some cases we have others that are setting the goals for us. Perhaps you report to a sales manager, or for nonprofits a board of directors that task the development director to achieve a certain amount of fundraising growth. If you are self-employed, then the task of setting goals can even be harder – you have to not only do the work, but in the end, hold yourself accountable. Wherever the goals come from though, often times a budget is set accordingly and then there are even more people who are counting on your performance.

A great source of inspiration for setting goals can come from others. It could be a number of self-motivational books by authors such as Tony Robbins, Zig Ziglar, Napoleon Hill, Dale Carnegie and many others. It can also be from industry consultants, such as one that I like to read on a regular basis – Bill Farquharson. Bill does weekly videos and sales tips that are short reads and typically very down to earth, easy to follow. A link to some of his work can be found at: http://www.piworld.com/channel/the-sales-challenge .

No matter where you seek out your inspiration though, the point is that you don’t need to go it alone. Once you set your goals, lean on others to help. And of course it is critical to track your progress throughout the year to maintain the momentum. Break down the goals into monthly or quarterly objectives, then be sure to celebrate as you meet the goals.

As for my inspirational run today – yes I did make the 5K and the time I set as a goal. Made me feel pretty good too!

What are your goals for the coming year?

 

Leave a Reply

