This Is Job Fulfillment…

Smiling businessman

I have always felt that one of the most satisfying parts of my job as a small business owner is that every day is something new… whether it be in working with new clients, shifting from sales to production to marketing, and then even doing deliveries. Getting the opportunity to learn new things or work on a project that we had never done before, and then switching over to doing a very mundane task of hand inserting letters into an envelope. No matter the task, you need to be up for the challenge, and be able to switch gears at almost a minutes notice!

While this can make for a very interesting day, I will admit that perhaps what is most gratifying for me is when I can use some of the experience and knowledge I have gained over the years to share insight with a client – or even more so, when I can do this with a prospect. Not everyone is open to listening, but when the opportunity comes it really is neat to be able to teach others what you have learned. Of course most of what I have learned has come from other clients as well, so it really is just coming around full circle.

Over the last several weeks I have had the opportunity to do this with a couple of prospects, and to see the light come into their eyes when they hear about some of the ideas I suggest makes me feel pretty good. It is also an example of probably the best way to actually sell a new client – not by any big pitch or set of promises, but by truly becoming a resource for them. It is true that the more you give, the more you will receive!

So when I think of job fulfillment and gratification, I think we can all gain so much by giving to others and helping them by teaching all that we know. This is where we can really make a difference – both for those we help, and ourselves as well.

What is it that gives you job satisfaction?

Leave a Reply

