All Bogged Down…

Man covering his face in office

First off, a confession to make… after being a very consistent and persistent blogger for the past 6 1/2 years, posting a new piece every 2 weeks without fail, I have to admit to not writing a post in well over a month now! Okay, that makes me feel better.. I think.

Truth be told it is not that I have not wanted to post some of my thoughts, it is just that I have been so bogged down with everyday work that there just is not time to do it.

Some of this has been due to a traditionally busy time of the year for my business. Easily one-third our sales come within the last 3 months of the year, and so I am very grateful for this work! In addition, we have a total of 4 new people on staff during this time as well – and the time it takes to teach and mentor these individuals along with doing some of the work myself as well, has definitely had an impact. Then of course there are the many year-end tasks that need to be handled – from customer visits to writing notes to our staff, completing the corporate minutes to writing copy for our annual marketing calendar, and then working on projections and budget for the new year.

With so much happening it is easy to get caught up in the day-to-day stuff. And sure, this is all important… but just as important is to take some time to think about business and what we can be doing to realize change over a period of time. For me, reading through industry trade magazines or doing webinars from associations has always helped invigorate me with new ideas. Getting involved in networking opportunities can expose you to different strategies as well, or leaning on trusted advisors. Focusing in on how to better delegate work, and prioritizing on tasks that are most critical to be doing will also help. All of this will be on my list of things to do to get back on track!

I have always found the start of a new year to be helpful as well – to draw conclusion to the past and start fresh with the future. While I have not had too much time to reorganize, I have been able to find a few moments when I feel less bogged down and more invigorated, and that is a start! I also have made notes on a few new blog posts to write, so I suspect you will see a return to my normal schedule.

How has your New Year started off?

Leave a Reply

